The EaaSI Team invites you to join us for the EaaSI 2019 Webinar Series. The purpose of the series is to share information about software preservation and emulation; convey EaaSI overview information through presentations and facilitated discussion; feature the accomplishments and experiences of EaaSI Node Team members; and learn more about the current questions and challenges facing organizations that are interested in EaaSI services.

When & Where

Location: Virtual (call-in instructions will be provided to everyone that registers).

Dates & Times:

  • July 17, 2019 @ 8am PT/10am CT/11am ET

  • August 12, 2019 @ 9am PT/11am CT/12pm ET

  • September 12, 2019 @ 8am PT/10am CT/11am ET

  • October 10, 2019 @ 8am PT/10am CT/11am ET

Registration

Cost: FREE

Available slots: 100

Opens: Monday, June 3, 2019 until all slots are filled

REGISTER HERE: http://bit.ly/eaasi-webinar-series-registration

NOTE: The registration form includes a few additional questions beyond the standard requests for name and contact information. Responses to the these questions will be used to help us ensure a respectful, engaging and healthy experience for our attendees.

What We'll Cover

During this webinar series EaaSI Node Team members and EaaSI staff will explore key features of the EaaSI program of work including system design; institutional policy development and legal frameworks; metadata modeling and Wikidata; and configuration workflows. The webinar series will both inform attendees about the EaaSI program of work and ground that work in the experiences of staff at each Node Host. Key topics for each episode are outlined below:

System Overview (July)

  • What problem is EaaSI trying to solve?

  • What are EaaSI core functions and underlying design concepts?

  • Why are approaching it this way?

  • How is EaaSI different from EaaS?

  • What EaaSI features are Node Hosts most interested in and why?

Institutional Policy and Broader Legal Framework (August)

  • When you don’t collect software as an object, why do you do it?

  • What role(s) does/do software play in your organizations and their long-term collection and preservation strategies?

  • In the current version of the OAIS model software is seen as “representation information” but is considered part of the overall package to be preserved. How should digital preservation systems model/include software objects that are shared between potentially billions of AIPs but integral to each one without explicitly including e.g. a copy of the software environment in each AIP?

  • What is the legal framework that allows us to develop institutional-level policy about software preservation and emulation?

Metadata Model and Wikidata (September)

  • How does your organization create, manage or discover metadata about software and related resources now?

  • What would you like to be able to do with software metadata?

  • Do you foresee any privacy or Intellectual Property (IP) issues with sharing metadata about software?

  • Some of the things we need to document for EaaSI and to support the outputs and outcomes of EaaSI are odd and challenging to justify including in external databases like Wikidata, such as derivative software environments with minor changes. What strategies can you suggest for raising awareness of their importance?

  • One software environment could be very similar to another, e.g. it may be identical but just have a setting changes such as the default application that is used to open a particular file format may have been changed from WordPad to Microsoft Word, in such a situation what should we name or how should we otherwise document the environments to distinguish them easily?

Emulators and Configuration Workflows (October)

  • What is your previous experience in using emulation software?

  • Were there any emulation programs already incorporated into your institutional workflows?

  • Are there other users in your node who have created environments? (besides the representatives or admins?)

  • If so, what was the biggest challenge for them in using the system? What did you have to spend time teaching them? (the interface? Emulation? Computing concepts? What are the core “skills”)

  • How formal are your workflows? Have you created manuals or documentation?

  • Have you thought about QC criteria? Or establishing (technical) guidelines for publishing?